The 2nd ACM Summer School on Data Science is organized by ACM Europe. The members of its committee are ACM and ACM Europe leaders as well as experts from the scientific community.


Yannis Ioannidis is currently a Professor at the Department of Informatics and Telecommunications of the University of Athens, as well as the President and General Director of the “Athena” Research and Innovation Center. His research interests include database and information systems, personalization and social networks, data infrastructures and digital libraries & repositories, scientific systems and workflows, eHealth systems, and human-computer interaction, topics on which he has published over one hundred articles in leading journals and conferences. He also holds three patents. Yannis has been a (co-)principal investigator in over thirty five research projects funded by various government agencies and has been a member of the program committees of over sixty conferences, six times as (co-)chair. Yannis has served as the ACM SIGMOD Chair (July 2009-June 2013), following a 4-year term as Vice-Chair, and is or has been a member of several other executive bodies of professional organizations  and Scientific Advisory Boards. In 2017, Professor Yannis E. Ioannidis received the 2017 ACM SIGMOD Contributions Award for his sustained leadership and dedicated service to the database community, especially as part of the SIGMOD Executive Committee and the VLDB Endowment.


George Eleftherakis (University of Sheffield) is a Reader (Associate Professor) in Computer Science. He received the Senate Award for Sustained Excellence in Learning and Teaching from the University of Sheffield in May 2014. He is a Senior member of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) since 2012 and the Chair of ACM’s Council of European Chapter Leaders since 2013. He is a member of the administration board of the Greek Computer Society since 2002. Since 2009 he is a member of the Faculty’s Research Committee, and the Research Director of the Computer Science department of the International Faculty of the University of Sheffield.


Panagiota Fatourou (ACM-W, ACM-Europe Council) an Associate Professor at the Department of Computer Science of the University of Crete, Greece and an affiliated faculty member at the Institute of Computer Science (ICS) of the Foundation for Research and Technology – Hellas (FORTH). She has been an EcoCloud visiting Professor at the School of Computer and Communication Sciences,École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne in Switzerland. Prior to joining the University of Crete and FORTH ICS, she was a full-time faculty member at the Department of Computer Science of the University of Ioannina. She has worked as a postdoc at Max-Planck Institut für Informatik, Saarbrücken, Germany, and at the Computer Science Department of theUniversity of Toronto, Canada. She got a degree in Computer Science from the University of Crete, Greece, and a PhD degree in Computer Engineering from the University of Patras, Greece. Her research interests focus on theoretical aspects of computer science with emphasis on the theory of parallel and distributed computing. Panagiota Fatourou is an elected member of the ACM Europe Council and a member of the Executive Committee of ACM-W Europe. She has served as the editor of the Distributed Computing Column of the Bulletin of the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (BEATCS) and as the General Chair of the ACM Symposium on Principles of Distributed Computing (PODC 2013). She is an ACM Distinguished Speaker.


Chris Hankin (Imperial College London) is Director of the Institute for Security Science and Technology and a Professor of Computing Science. He was Deputy Principal of the Faculty of Engineering from September 2006 until October 2008. He was Pro Rector (Research) from June 2004 until  September 2006. He was Dean of City and Guilds College from 2000-2003. His research is in cyber security, data analytics and semantics-based program analysis.


Pat Ryan (ACM COO), ACM’s Chief Operating Officer, has been with ACM nearly a quarter of a century. She has gained a mastery of nearly all headquarters procedures, systems and operations, including much that is technical. Pat has been a tireless advocate for ACM, and has been the steady, leading icon for staff and volunteers. Pat has maintained quality relationships with volunteers and staff alike, and is known, throughout the ACM, as a straight shooter and a person who puts ACM and the needs of its members first. She started her career at ACM as a part-time employee, and worked her way up the corporate ladder under the tutelage of a number of top ACM volunteer and staff leaders. Those who have worked closely with Pat over the past decade have seen her blossom into a true leader, one capable of managing day-to-day details as well as looking forward and seeing the larger picture of what ACM can be.


Timos Sellis  (Swinburne University of Technology) is Director of Swinburne’s Data Science Research Institute. His research interests include big data, data streams, personalisation, data integration, and spatio- temporal database systems. Professor Sellis is an IEEE Fellow for his contributions to database query optimisation and spatial data management. He is also an ACM Fellow for his contributions to database query optimisation, spatial data management and data warehousing. Up until 2012 Professor Sellis was Director of the Institute for the Management of Information Systems and a Professor at the National Technical University of Athens. He holds an MSc degree from Harvard University, a PhD from the University of California at Berkeley, and has served as president of the National Council for Research and Technology of Greece.



Giannis Altanopoulos, “Athena” Research and Innovation Center
Ioanna Doutsou, “Athena” Research and Innovation Center
Tasos Patrikakos, “Athena” Research and Innovation Center
Eleni Sotiropoulou, “Athena” Research and Innovation Center
Lydia Themeli, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens